Bipartisan Advisory Board

  • Tom Ridge

    is the former Governor of Pennsylvania. Following the tragic events of September 11th, 2001, Governor Ridge became the first Assistant to  President George W. Bush for Homeland Security and, on January 24, 2003, he  became the first Secretary of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. Prior  to these roles, Governor Ridge served for twelve years as a member of the United States House of Representatives.

  • Bill Weld

    is the former two-term Governor of Massachusetts. Before serving as Governor, he was appointed U.S. Attorney for the District of Massachusetts under President Ronald Reagan. Governor Weld then assumed the position of  Assistant U.S. Attorney General at the Department of Justice’s Criminal Division.

  • Christine Todd Whitman

    is the former Governor of New Jersey. After her two  terms as New Jersey’s first female Governor, she served in the cabinet of President George W. Bush as Administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency.  Governor Whitman is co-chair and a founding member of the Republican  Leadership Council.

  • Jack Conway

    is the former two-term Attorney General of Kentucky and served in  various leadership positions among his colleagues. He is a trial attorney and  current partner at Dolt Thompson Shepherd & Conway, where his practice also  allows him to continue to advocate for issues with state attorneys general. He is a  former board member of the Kentucky Center for African American Heritage and  also spent six years as legal counsel to former Kentucky Governor Paul Patton.

  • Frankie Sue Del Papa

    is a former three-term Attorney General of Nevada.  General Del Papa also served as Nevada Secretary of State and as an elected  member of the Board of Regents for the Nevada System of Higher  Education. A member of the State Bar of Nevada since 1974, she resides in  Reno, where she is active in civic and community organizations.

  • John J. Farmer Jr.

    is a former Assistant US Attorney, New Jersey Attorney General and Senior Counsel to the 9/11 Commission. He is currently the Director of the Eagleton Institute of Politics at Rutgers University-New Brunswick.

  • Jim Hood

    is the former four-term Attorney General of Mississippi. Prior to taking  office, General Hood served as the Third Judicial District Attorney of North  Mississippi. General Hood continues to work with state attorneys general on their  multi-state investigations.

  • Jahna Lindemuth

    is the former Attorney General for the state of Alaska.  During her tenure as Attorney General, Lindemuth served on the National  Association of Attorneys General executive board and the Conference of  Western States Attorneys General executive board. Before serving as Attorney  General, General Lindemuth was in private practice for eighteen years at an  international law firm, representing clients in complex commercial disputes  and serving as the Anchorage office’s managing partner for eight years.

  • Patricia Madrid

    is the former two-term Attorney General of New Mexico. In addition to being the first woman elected attorney general in New Mexico, General Madrid was also the first Hispanic woman elected to the office in the United States. In 2005, General Madrid served as chairperson of the Conference of Western Attorneys General. She also was the Chairman of the Board of  MALDEF (Mexican American Legal Defense and Education Fund), the premier legal organization representing Latino rights in the country. 

  • Tom Rath

    served as Attorney General of New Hampshire and is the former Director  of the Legal Services Corporation under President George W. Bush. General Rath has  been named senior national advisor to the presidential campaigns of Howard Baker, Robert Dole, Lamar Alexander, Mitt Romney and George W. Bush. He has been a  delegate to nine Republican National Conventions and was the Republican Party  National Committeeman for New Hampshire for seven years.

  • Grant Woods

    is the former Attorney General of Arizona and an experienced trial  lawyer. General Woods was President of the Conference of Western Attorneys  General and chaired the Civil Rights and Supreme Court committees for the  National Association of Attorneys General. Prior to his long legal career, General  Grant served as the first Chief of Staff for the late Senator John McCain of  Arizona.

  • Art Acevedo

    is the Chief of Police for the Houston, Texas Police Department. Prior  to his nomination and appointment, Chief Acevedo served over nine years as the  Chief of Police for the Austin, Texas Police Department. Chief Acevedo is currently  the President of the Major Cities Chiefs Association, a professional association of  Chiefs and Sheriffs representing the largest cities in the United States and Canada.

  • Donald Ayer

    is the former Deputy Attorney General under President George H.W. Bush and Principal Deputy Solicitor General under Solicitor General Charles Fried. Prior to these roles, he served as U.S. Attorney in Sacramento and Assistant U.S. Attorney in San Francisco. Ayer has been an appellate lawyer for forty years, and has taught a course in Supreme Court Advocacy at several law schools, including Duke, Stanford, NYU, and Georgetown, where he is presently teaching. 

  • Greg Brower

    is a former Assistant Director and Deputy General Counsel of the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). He has also served as the U.S. Attorney for the District of Nevada under Presidents George W. Bush and Barack Obama. In addition to his federal experience, Brower previously has served as an elected member of the Nevada Legislature, including as chair of the Senate Judiciary Committee.

    Greg Bower
  • Sheriff Peter J. Koutoujian

    is the current Sheriff of Middlesex County,  Massachusetts and a former member of the Massachusetts House of  Representatives. In January 2020, Sheriff Koutoujian began his first term as  President of the Major County Sheriffs of America (MCSA), representing sheriffs  from the most populous counties in the nation.

  • Sheriff Earnell R. Lucas

    is the 65th Sheriff of Milwaukee County, Wisconsin. In a  career spanning over 25 years, Lucas served as the Milwaukee Police Department’s  public information officer and as a district commander, ultimately retiring at the  rank of captain before he was elected Sheriff.

  • The Honorable Sarah R. Saldaña

    is the former Director of Immigration &  Customs Enforcement under President Barack Obama. Prior to her role at ICE,  Director Saldaña served as the United States Attorney for the Northern District of Texas. Director Saldaña is on the board of Every Texan, the Texas Hispanic  Policy Foundation, and the Texas Business Immigration Coalition.

  • Joyce Vance

    is the former United States Attorney for the Northern District of Alabama and the first female U.S. Attorney nominated by President Barack Obama. In 2017, Vance joined the University of Alabama School of Law as a  Distinguished Visiting Lecturer in Law.

  • Ken Wainstein

    is the former Homeland Security Advisor to President George W. Bush. Prior to his White House service, Wainstein was nominated and confirmed the first Assistant Attorney General for National Security. He has also served as the U.S. Attorney in Washington DC, General Counsel to the FBI, and Chief of Staff to Director Robert Mueller.

  • Jeri L. Williams

    is the Chief of the Phoenix Police Department. Previously, Chief Williams served nearly six years as Police Chief in the City of Oxnard, California. She began her law enforcement career with the Phoenix Police Department and retired as an Assistant Chief after 22 years of service. Chief  Williams is a member of the International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP), the Major Cities Chiefs Association (MCCA) and the Arizona  Association of Chiefs of Police (AACOP).